Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jun. 01, 2004 - 9:54 a.m.

Andrew W.K.

Well folks, I'm back but not feeling 100% I'm afraid. I have to echo my dear Cat's feelings when I say that this cold is kicking my ass! I've had it since Friday at my best guess and I have barely breathed or slept all weekend. So, needless to say it sucks. Though I am a bit better today. Got a little more sleep last night. The coughing has subsided, but my head is still all clogged up and I still sort of feel as though I am in a fog. But moving on...

I did a little more work on my music collection (which you'll find the link to at right) on Guzzlefish last night. There were some omissions that I had to fill in, and using a 1 in the ratings category I notated my vinyl records. Hey I even got opusshrugged and karaokekatey to create lists of their own, which I am really looking forward to perusing later today.

On a seperate note, I was looking at my future school's website last night to see what I could find out about work study. And it occurred to me that perhaps I was supposed to indicate that I was interested in work study on some sort of application. So I then proceeded to head over to the FAFSA website to check out my now 3 times corrected application, only to discover that there was in fact a question asking this exact thing...and I answered no. Why? Because apparently I am not only and idiot but a glutton for punishment and stress. So I tried frantically to log back into the site and change my answer, even though part of me feels it will be too late. To no avail...the site was having problems and would not let me in.

So I panicked of course. Because that's what I do...I freak out over things like this. I emailed the customer service people. Even though I knew I would get no quick response. But I managed to log in this morning and amend my mistake. However, knowing that the priority filing deadline for said school was April 1st, I'm not exactly sure how this is going to effect me. I did file initially back in January. And none of the changes that I have made, which have before this been just adding schools, have changed the final outcome of my financial status. And neither did this one, but if the school doesn't know that I want work study and they are already working out my aid package then isn't that going to be a problem?

Sorry for venting my frustrations about this here. If anyone knows anything about this and would like to let me know, please do. The thing is, I'm all about work study. It's a nice cushy part-time job, possibly even doing something relating to my major, where I can make a good bit more than minimum wage, and will have to work around my class schedule. This is what I want. I am not looking for some high paying great job right now. All I need is something easy, part-time and where I can make enough to cover our rent. That's my theory anyway. I make enough to cover rent, whilst husband makes enough to cover all other expenses and any extra. He will hopefully be making enough to cover it all, but I'd rather not have to worry about it.

So that's been my recent stress inducing drama. Other than that, just attempting to get over this damn cold. And looking forward to the new season of Queer Eye starting tonight because god knows that there is nothing on tv anymore since everything is over for the season. I guess it'll be all baseball from here on out.

Oh, and another strange aside, I was watching this show on MTV2 with Andrew W.K. called "Your Friend, Andrew W.K.". Well the show is weird and I'm not sure I get it. It's some sort of advice show with videos thrown in or something. Anyway, I know he's sort of this oddball, Van Halen-esque party rocker, who does crazy shit and dances like a maniac. But he's actually pretty smart, and I remember hearing that he is a classically trained piano player, and I think he's cute. In a strange goofy, dirty rock star way. Especially now that it appears he's gotten over the whole dirty white outfit phase. Don't you think so?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!