Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May. 28, 2004 - 11:49 a.m.

Todd Snider

I'm sick. Well it's just a bad cold caught from the baby, but I still feel like crap. So be forewarned that this entry may suck in turn.

I have decided against the community college plan. It was a bad rush judgement and I think that I would have ended up regretting it very much. So I am back to plan A, which is going to the university where I've already been accepted, and doing the Art Studio major. The only thing that has changed it the fact that I am not going to go down there two weeks ahead of my husband for the advising conference. I changed it to a later conference that is two days before school starts. I know that's cutting it close as far as getting classes. But I have already resigned myself to the fact that I will be getting no art classes my first semester there anyway. I'm sure they can find my 4 classes that I either haven't taken or that I have the pre-req. for and that will count for something. I don't have all my general ed. stuff finished but most of it. So hopefully I'll find some classes that aren't too awful, and start the art stuff in spring semester when I can pre-register like everyone else.

So that's the school story, which is I guess the only story right now. Other than the fact that I'm sick - did I mention? Can't stop coughing and my throat is all sore and scratchy. The really awful part of catching a cold from your child is that you have to deal with them feeling sick for a few day, then by the time they start to feel better, you feel like shit because it's caught up to you! But I suppose it's better than the alternative which is all of us feeling like crap at the same exact time.

Yesterday I found a cool site called Guzzlefish. (Don't ask me how they name these crazy sites!) Anyway, it's a site where you can catalog your cd, movie and/or game collections, much like I had my music collection catolged before at Recordnerd. But it's much cooler because instead of just typing all your stuff in, you just search for the artist or album or even the UPC code if you want, and then pick your albums from the list. Then it breaks down your collection and tells you the percentage of albums you have in all these different genres, your most collected artist, genre, decade, label, and it even gives you and estimated value of your collection.

So you can imagine for a music-nerd like me, this site is like free crack! I was in heaven and so was the husband when I showed him, so we spent like the whole night putting our records on a list. Now, the only slight problem is that the only format you can choose is cd. Therefore some of the albums listed, I actually don't have on cd, but on vinyl, but I put them anyway. But 98% of them are on cd, and 95% of those are real bought copies even though I did include the albums we have burned copies of.

So now you can look at my music collection by going here.(Or just go to Guzzlefish.com and look under the username culturequeen) You can even click on the option to view the list with the thumbnails of the album covers, which for some reason delighted me to no end! I'm such a record nerd, it's just not even funny anymore. Just thank your lucky stars that I didn't go so far as to add to the list the records that we have on tape but have not yet bought on cd. Then it would be even longer and more unbearable than it is now! (It's like a 98% complete list right now, there are a bunch of things in a travel case that we haven't listed yet, but you get the idea.)

So knock yourselves out perusing my spiffy new music list...and the permanant link to it will be over there on the right where it says music collection. (Or will, I'm not sure what it says now.) And I encourage all of you music lovers and collectors to make your own list...and then post the link to it, so I can be nosy and look at your records too...because for some reason that's endless fun for me!

Happy weekend everyone! Here's some lyrics that describe me perfectly and ironicly I heard this song for the first time last night while doing all this!

"Vinyl Records" - Todd Snider

I�ve got a dusty old pile of vinyl records sittin� on my floor

I�ve played each one of �em over and over a dozen times or more

All I�ve got is a beat up chair a mattress a fork and another to spare

And that dusty old pile of records on my floor

I got Willie, Waylon and Woody Guthrie

Jimmy Buffett, Lyle Lovett and Bobby Gentry

Jerry Jeff, Bob Dylan, Donnie Fritts,

The Dead, The Doors, Patsy Cline, John Prine and more

I got Jackson Browne, Townes Van Zandt, Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd

Harry Chapin, Guy Clark and Van Halen

I got Rita, Kris, Keith Sykes and Country Joe when he was singin� with the Fish you know

I got Emmylou, U2 and Arlo, James Taylor, Jimmie Rodgers, Hank Williams, Mojo Nixon,

Hendrix, Haggard and a whole lot more

In that dusty old pile of vinyl records I got sittin� on my floor

One time in San Francisco

I was standin� in an airport line

In one bag I had all my clothes and in the other was all them ol� records of mine

The lady said I could only bring one bag

I had two, Oh what a drag

I had to jump on the plane and leave all my clothes behind

But I got Willie, Waylon and Woody Guthrie

Jimmy Buffett, Lyle Lovett and Bobby Gentry

Jerry Jeff, Bob Dylan, Donnie Fritts,

The Dead, The Doors, Patsy Cline, John Prine and more

I got Jackson Browne, Townes Van Zandt, Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd

Harry Chapin, Guy Clark and Van Halen

I got Rita, Kris, Keith Sykes and Country Joe when he was singin� with the Fish you know

I got Emmylou, U2 and Arlo, James Taylor, Jimmie Rodgers, Hank Williams, Mojo Nixon,

Hendrix, Haggard and a whole lot more

I got all of Booker T�s, Tom T. Hall�s,

Bobby Bare, Belafonte and the New York Dolls,

Billy Joe, Jimmy Croce, Kiss, Crosby Stills and Nash,

John, June and Roseanne Cash

I got Forbert, Fromholtz, Stevie Ray,

T-Birds, Yardbirds, Sam and Dave,

And as some of y�all mighta guessed already

I got piles and piles and piles of Tom Petty

In that dusty old pile of vinyl records I got sittin� on my floor

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!