Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jan. 16, 2005 - 2:08 p.m.

Well I have made a purchase and therefore a decision. I saw the little news thing here on diaryland about the domain hosting, etc. So I did it, which essentially means that the domain that I signed up for will be updated through this diary since this is the diary I bought it through. Ok, so since I have been wanting a real .com for my photoblog, but the hosting and getting Moveable Type and all that was pretty expensive...but doing it through diaryland cost me only $30 and it's better for me since I am so familiar with the diaryland code and all. Basically whatever I update to this diary goes not only to irishblueyes.diaryland.com but also to my new domain. With me here?

Ok, so I don't want to waste my domain name on my diary, i'd much raher use it for my photoblog. So what I am going to expriment with is locking this diary and updating it as my photoblog only. I haven't checked how this will work yet. Basically it means this diary won't exist anymore, when you go to irishblueyes.diaryland.com, you'll just get a locked prompt and i won't give out the password, and i'll just use it to update the new domain.

So, never fear, I've been thinking about moving from this diary for a long time anyway, because as I've mentioned, I hate the username considering I am neither Irish (maybe a tiny percentage) and my eyes haven't been blue since I was like 10 and it was named after a rock star. It doesn't fit me or my life anymore. So I'm moving. Still here in diaryland, though I did consider escaping to blogger, I love you guys too much and I know other friends from diaryland who have moved on to LJ or somewhere else and it's like they dissappear from the face of the earth.

So....I'm still in the process of transferring some stuff over to the new diary, like the song list and some of my other extra stuff links. I probably won't get gold subscription over there since i just spent the $30 on the domain thingy. And my gold runs out here in like 2 weeks. Perfect time to move. I'm also going to keep the new diary blog style just in case, I probably won't use it blog style everyday cause it tends to make me update for ridiculous reasons. The other thing is since I probably won't be getting gold over at the new diary, I'm going to use my first diary address for my private entries.

I know this sounds complicated but you won't have to remember the private diary address or add it to your buddylist or whatever. It'll be locked with the same password as my private entries have now....and you'll just click on the private link in the menu and it'll take you there, you'll pop in the same old password, you get it.

Just wanted to let you know so when I start putting you all on my buddylist overthere you won't be wondering who the hell it is.

I dont' think i'm gonna need gold over there cause i can just as easily host my pictures over at OurWorld where I already have an account and do you all really want to know what i'm reading and all that stuff in the optional fields? You know I never hesitate to tell you what I'm listening too and stuff so I can just as easily add that to my entry manually. I'll try not to be too lazy to do that. I know the real problem with not having gold is sometimes the inability to update when it's busy...we'll see how much that bugs me, I might have to get it for that reason alone!

So that's the story. I guess I'll be ready to start writing over there tomorrow...and I will leave this message up for a few days before I lock it down to start working on the photoblog layout and stuff. I love you all and I'll be thrilled for all of you who feel so inclined to join me over at the new diary: bohemianlife.... the template is up and everything (check out the first items on the menu over there and you'll understand my choice of username!) there is no entry, just the laminated list right now, where i'm adding some of those extras..but feel free to check it out, update you buddylists and bookmarks...

It's time to start a new journey here in diary world....let's hope it's a good one. Now it's time to go start updating the buddylist over there....oh and i'll give you guys the domain for the photoblog when it's done...for now it's still at culturequeen for anyone insterested.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!